Pack Light…Live Lightly.

Borders. (26)

The minimalist mantra? Maybe. I found this quote a few years ago while skipping through a copy of Instyle and since then every time I pack for a trip I remember these words. I don’t do a very good job of applying them I’ll admit it but I remember. 

Today while coming to work I remembered again when I was zipping my handbag and it refused to close. The bag which we will call Vince is perfect for me. Grey Leather , a little bit of snakeskin and a dash of suede. It’s structured , petite and chic. There is just one problem……it can’t hold a lot of stuff! Call it prepared or call it paranoid but I like to carry things , I never know what I may need but I want to have it.

Sadly , unlike me Vince doesn’t like stuff. It likes to be uncluttered and light. It doesn’t want to be bogged down with all the things I may or may not need. So what do I do? Do I continue to bog down Vince or do I lighten my load?

As hard as I am sure it will be I plan to go with the latter and lighten up (or do a better job of packing Vince) . Minimalism has been calling to me for the past year and I am trying to do a better job of decluttering my life , my mind and my space. I’ve been collecting things for the sake of having them and I admit that it hasn’t been the best way of living. I now try to put more thought into the things I buy and the things I surround myself with.  I plan to do more traveling in the coming years and I hope to finally give in to light living.

What are some of the things you find hard to let go of?

Love and light,
Rushell

Leave a Reply

